What is the correct ruling when a runner is hit by a batted ball while attempting to advance before it passes an infielder in softball?

Prepare for the Praxis PE Content and Knowledge Test (5091). Utilize quizzes, flashcards, and detailed multiple choice questions with hints and explanations to get exam-ready!

In the context of softball, if a runner is hit by a batted ball while attempting to advance before the ball passes an infielder, the correct ruling is that the ball is dead, the base runner is out, and the batter is awarded first base. This ruling serves to maintain fairness in the game.

When a batted ball strikes a runner before it has had a chance to pass an infielder, the runner is considered to have interfered with the play. The rationale behind this is that the runner's presence on the base path obstructs the batted ball's potential to be fielded by the infielders. Therefore, the game's rules dictate this specific outcome to avoid confusion and ensure that the play is resolved appropriately.

In this case, the rule prioritizes the integrity of the play and the actions of the fielders. The awarding of first base to the batter is also a standard consequence tied to the runner's interference, as it acknowledges that the play has been affected.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy